ECMA, ISO, IETF RFCs, and Other Standards

Previous Topic Previous Next Topic Next
Xoc Software

Other Xoc managed sites:

Get used to using Internet standards. There are two primary sources for Internet standards, the IETF (Internet Engineering Task Force), and the W3C (World Wide Web Consortium). The IETF provides the low-level standards for the Internet as a series of RFC (Requests for Comments). The W3C provides the high-level standards as a series of Recommendations. There are several other standards bodies that have useful standards such as the ISO (International Standards Organization) and ECMA.

There are some standards that Xoc Software references much more than others. These are listed below:


ECMA-262: ECMAScript Language Specification (JavaScript)
ECMA-344: C# Language Specification


ISO 3166: Codes for the representation of names of countries and their subdivisions
ISO 639: Codes for the Representation of Names of Languages


IANA Language Tags
Mime Types


RFC0822: Standard for the Format of ARPA Internet Text Messages
RFC1034: Domain Names - Concepts and Facilities
RFC1123: Requirements for Internet Hosts -- Application and Support
RFC2368: The mailto URL scheme
RFC2616: Hypertext Transfer Protocol - HTTP/1.1
RFC3066: Tags for the Identification of Languages (supercedes RFC1766)